Ch√Ęteau de La Dominique

France Go Full Screen

Sitting in the middle of a prestigious vineyard, the Château La Dominique is on neighbourly terms with some of the most famous appellations in the world: Cheval Blanc, Petrus, Figeac, La Conseillante, l’Evangile... It clearly needed to mark its territory by bringing out and transforming a very special landscape. And so the idea was born of creating an object that would rise up out of the existing building–a big stone barn smack bang in the middle of the domaine–and would venture into the vines like a piece of land art, in a nod to the artist Anish Kapoor.
The volumetry of this object is pure, consisting of a horizontal plane and four vertical mirror walls. On the terrace created between these planes, a veritable lookout floating over the vines, the fifth plane, detached and horizontal, reflects the existing rooves, the vines and the horizon. The East and West façades consist of a concrete veil, covered in a set of horizontal stainless steel slats that are polished and lacquered a dark red colour to remind us that, here, it’s all about wine. The slats are progressively angled, all the way down the facade, with the bottom slats angled upwards, reflecting the sky, while the slats at the top, angled progressively downwards, reflect the ground and the rows of vines.
The North façade is transparent, consisting of a large two-way mirror that reflects the vines during the day and then reveals the new fermenting room when night falls. The roofing is a fine horizontal plate, with the underside made from the same dark red material as the façades. Upstairs, a restaurant with floor-to-ceiling glass walls looks North over a vast terrace. The terrace floor is covered in the centre with red glass gravel that you tread as people once trod grapes. Steps leading down from the terrace take you to a small balcony from where you can run your eye unhindered out over the sea of vines.

STATUS Built
DATES  Project - Studies: 2010 - 2012
Construction: 2012 - 2014
Completition: 03.2014
LOCATION Château La Dominique, Saint-Emilion, France
CLIENT  Private: Vignobles Clément FAYAT
ASSISTANT TO THE CLIENT  CONNEXION BATIMENT (Ghazal LISSANDRE)
ARCHITECT Jean NOUVEL – Ateliers Jean Nouvel (Paris, FR), design architect
ASSOCIATED ARCHITECT, Moon Safari ex-Air Architectes (Bordeaux, FR)
Management, development and implementation architect
PROJECT LEADER Emmanuel BLAMONT
ARCHITECTS Alberto RUBIN PEDRAZZO
FURNITURE DESIGN Jean Nouvel Design (JND)
LANDSCAPE OOk Paysagiste (Hervé GASTEL)
ENGINEERS : Egis bâtiments
CONSULTANTS Security: Casso & Associés
CONTRACT TYPE Studies to building permits, architectural site supervision, interiors
PROGRAM Construction of a new winery and restaurant; renovation of the existing reception area, winery, cellars and private reception rooms; renovation and extension of existing agricultural buildings
USABLE FLOOR AREA 3 200 m²

Château de La Dominique

France Go Full Screen

Au cœur d’un prestigieux vignoble, le Château La Dominique dialogue avec quelques-unes des appellations les plus célèbres du monde : Cheval Blanc, Petrus, Figeac, La Conseillante, l'Evangile… Il fallait donc qu’il marque son territoire, révèle et transforme un paysage exceptionnel. Ainsi est née l’idée d’un objet qui surgit du corps du bâtiment existant, bâtisse de pierre située au centre du domaine, et s’aventure dans les vignes à la manière d’une intervention de land art, clin d’œil au plasticien Anish Kapoor.
​La volumétrie de cet objet est pure, constituée d’un plan horizontal et de quatre pans verticaux miroirs. Sur la terrasse crée entre ces plans, véritable belvédère flottant au-dessus des vignes, le cinquième plan, décollé et horizontal cette fois, réfléchit les toitures existantes, les vignes et l'horizon. Les façades Est et Ouest sont constituées d'un voile de béton, couvert d'un ensemble de lames d'acier inoxydable horizontales polies et vernies de couleur rouge sombre signalant qu’ici, c’est de vin qu’il s’agit. Les lames sont inclinées de manière progressive, en pied de façade, orientée vers le haut, elles réfléchissent le ciel tandis que, s'inclinant petit à petit vers le bas, les lames supérieures réfléchissent le sol et les rangs de vignes.
​La façade Nord, transparente, est constituée d'un grand miroir sans tain reflétant les vignes dans la journée et laissant découvrir, à la nuit tombée, la nouvelle cuverie. La toiture est une lame fine horizontale dont la sous face est réalisée dans le même matériau rouge sombre que les façades. Au premier étage, un restaurant entièrement vitré s’ouvre au Nord sur une vaste terrasse dont le sol est recouvert en son centre de gravier de verre rouge que l’on foule comme jadis les raisins. Sur cette terrasse, quelques emmarchements donnent accès en contrebas à un étroit balcon permettant au regard de filer sans obstacle vers la mer de vignes.

STATUT Construit
DATES
Etudes : 2010 - 2012
Chantier : 2012 - 2014
Livraison : 03.2014
ADRESSE Château La Dominique, Saint-Emilion, France
MAITRISE D’OUVRAGE  Privée: Vignobles Clément FAYAT
ASSISTANCE A MAITRISE D’OUVRAGE CONNEXION BATIMENT (Ghazal LISSANDRE)
MAITRISE D’ŒUVRE  Jean NOUVEL – Ateliers Jean Nouvel (Paris, FR); mandataire conception.
ARCHITECTES ASSOCIES Moon Safari ex-Air Architectes (Bordeaux, FR); Mandataire maîtrise d’œuvre, développement et réalisation
CHEF DE PROJET Emmanuel BLAMONT
ARCHITECTES Alberto RUBIN PEDRAZZO
DESIGN MOBILIER Jean Nouvel Design (JND)
PAYSAGISTE OOk Paysagiste (Hervé GASTEL)
INGENIEURS BET généraliste : Egis bâtiments
CONSULTANTS Sécurité Incendie et Accessibilité : Casso & Associés
TYPE DE MISSION Etudes jusqu’au permis de construire, suivi architectural du chantier, aménagements intérieurs 
PROGRAMME Construction d’une cuverie et d’un restaurant, réaménagement de l’accueil, de la cuverie existante, des chais existants et des salons privés
Rénovation et extension des bâtiments agricoles
SURFACE UTILE 3 200 m²