Ateliers Jean Nouvel, Jean Nouvel Design – a new dynamism

France Go Full Screen

Two important recent appointments bear witness to the new dynamism that Jean Nouvel and François Fontès, the President of Ateliers Jean Nouvel (AJN), intend to inject into Jean Nouvel’s two main activities: architecture and design. Jules Nyssen, the founding director of Anakena Conseil, a law firm specialising in strategic advice, was named Chief Executive Officer of AJN, and Franck Argentin, Company Manager of the firm RBC, a contemporary furniture distributor, was named Managing Director of Jean Nouvel Design (JND). Both men stepped into their roles on 4 January 2016. These appointments are certain to reinforce the synergies between the two organisations and to ensure their evolution on the French and international stage.

Biographies

Jules Nyssen was born in Brussels (Belgium) on February 22, 1966. A Doctor of Economics and a highly qualified teacher with an agrégation under his belt, Nyssen began his career at Aix-Marseille University(AMU), where he was head of the Department of Research and Teaching in Economics within the public economics body, the Institut d’économie publique (IDEP), from 1996 to 1999. Director of the DEA, the Diplôme d’études approfondies (a postgraduate qualification), and of doctoral research in political economics, macroeconomics and development at the University of the Mediterranean from 1998 to 2004, before it merged with the AMU, Nyssen went on to become the Managing Director of Services for the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur Region. In 2008, he performed the same functions in the City of Montpellier. A civil administrator, Nyssen founded Anakena Conseil in 2014 and has continued since to run the consultancy, which specialises in strategy, management and organisation.

Franck Argentin was born in Versailles on April 17, 1964. He was born into the profession: the son of a furniture dealer, he decided to set out on his own at the tender age of 23, opening his first design showroom in Nîmes in the South of France in 1987. Designer Philippe Starck was entrusted with the design. RBC was born and paved the way for a new way of thinking about furniture distribution involving close dialogue with architects, decorators and lovers of good design. RBC was followed in 1995 by the RBC Structures showroom in Montpellier (Antonio Citterio), the Avignon showroom (Christophe Pillet) in 2001, and the Cuisine et Collectivités showroom (Piero Lissoni) in Montpellier in 2003. The innovative RBC Concept store in Gallargues followed in 2006 (Cabinet d’architecture Crégut + Dupont) and finally RBC Lyon in 2010 (Jakob + MacFarlane), nestled within the Cube Orange building designed by the same architects. With the opening of the RBC Design Center in Montpellier in 2012, Franck Argentin entered a new phase. Imagined and designed by Jean Nouvel, this 2000m2 space goes beyond the design object to celebrate design culture itself. In under 30 years, the RBC distribution network has secured a special place in the world of design.

Ateliers Jean Nouvel, Jean Nouvel Design, un nouveau dynamisme

France Go Full Screen

Deux nominations importantes témoignent du nouveau dynamisme que Jean Nouvel et François Fontès, président d’Ateliers Jean Nouvel (AJN), entendent insuffler aux deux activités principales de Jean Nouvel : l’architecture et le design. Jules Nyssen, dirigeant-fondateur d’Anakena Conseil, cabinet spécialisé dans le conseil en stratégie, a été nommé président exécutif d’AJN. Franck Argentin, gérant de la société RBC, distributeur de mobilier contemporain, a été nommé directeur général de Jean Nouvel Design (JND). Tous deux ont pris leurs fonctions le 4 janvier 2016. Ces nominations vont permettre de renforcer les synergies entre les deux structures et d’assurer leur développement sur la scène française et internationale.

Biographies

Jules Nyssen, né le 22 février 1966 à Bruxelles (Belgique), est docteur et agrégé en sciences économiques. Il est entré dans la carrière par l’Université d’Aix-Marseille où il fut responsable du département « Économie de la recherche et de l’éducation » au sein de l’Institut d’économie publique de 1996 à 1999. Directeur du DEA et de la formation doctorale Politique économique, macroéconomie et développement de l’Université de la Méditerranée de 1998 à 2004, Jules Nyssen devient Directeur général des services de la Région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. En 2008, il occupe les mêmes fonctions à la Ville de Montpellier. Administrateur civil hors classe en disponibilité, il fonde à la fin de 2014 et dirige depuis Anakena Conseil, cabinet spécialisé dans le conseil en stratégie, en management et en organisation.

Franck Argentin, né le 17 avril 1964 à Versailles, est un enfant de la balle : à 23 ans seulement, fils d’un distributeur de mobilier, il décide de tracer sa propre route et d’ouvrir son premier showroom de design à Nîmes en 1987. Il en confie la conception au designer Philippe Starck. RBC est né et ouvre la voie à une nouvelle manière d’appréhender la distribution de mobilier par un dialogue étroit avec les architectes, les décorateurs et les passionnés. Suivront en 1995 le showroom RBC Structures à Montpellier (Antonio Citterio), en 2001, celui d’Avignon (Christophe Pillet), en 2003, le showroom Cuisine et Collectivités de Montpellier (Piero Lissoni), puis l’innovant Concept de Gallargues en 2006 (Cabinet d’architecture Crégut + Duport) et enfin RBC Lyon en 2010 (Jakob + MacFarlane) au sein du Cube Orange des mêmes architectes. En 2012, avec l’ouverture du RBC Design Center à Montpellier, Franck Argentin franchit une nouvelle étape. Conçu et imaginé par Jean Nouvel, ce lieu de 2 000 m2 célèbre bien au-delà de l’objet design, la culture design elle-même. En mois de 30 ans, le réseau de distribution RBC a pris une place singulière dans le milieu du design.