40 Mercer - Soho Residences

USA Go Full Screen

Located at the corner of Mercer, Grand and Broadway, the residential building at 40 Mercer was initially designed as a hotel. This change occurred after the 9/11 events, but the fundamentals of my project were in place, based as they were on the site's intrinsic qualities. The specificity of the site resides in the fact that three of its sides are free, a very rare feature in New York. An obvious plan for the site would have been to build against the neighbour building, but I opted to keep the two buildings apart and create a garden.
The adjacent buildings are representative of Soho's industrial architecture. I analysed their proportions, the composition of the façades and the materials used, with a view to producing a resolutely contemporary type of architecture that does not try to be different but rather seeks to blend in so as to better emphasise the qualities of its environment.
The proportions of the two stacked structures making up the building are based on those of the buildings nearby: the lower structure, or base, is at the same average height as the directly adjacent buildings, while the upper structure, or tower, is of the same height and width as the Broome Building, located at the Northern end of the block. The tower to the East is topped with a sculpture of blue glass blades, echoing the Broome building cornice.
I then added an extra opening by cutting a vertical rift through the base, which forms a pathway from Mercer to Broadway, from the red brick façades to those painted white, grey and blue, from the quiet elegance of Soho to the frenzied pace of Broadway.
The overall mode of expression here is that of a woven dark grey metal structure. But the various parts take on a very different appearance according to their position within the site: the West wing façades, on Mercer, are made up of large, horizontal plate glass windows, with dark red glass on the corners. On the East side, the façades' weft is tighter, punctuated with inverted sash windows and midnight blue glass panes. The tower's surface is smoother, with its window breasts glistening in the sunlight; the continuity is broken by two sets of extra large sliding windows, reminiscent of garage doors and transforming the living rooms into loggias.
The back façade of the building has a regular pattern of opaque or transparent panels, reminiscent of the neighbourhood's brick party-walls.
Inside is a range of some ten different lay-outs, from 2-room apartments to a duplex of over 300 sq m, placing residents at the heart of this strikingly beautiful city. On the lower levels, the façades opposite act as ideal wallpaper within the picture windows, each frame naturally resonating with its counterpart in the patterns across the way, while the whole of the Downtown Manhattan skyline acts as scenery for the flats of the tower. But for the inhabitants at 40 Mercer, my intent was to focus on all five senses: when they open the vast windows, they are momentarily immersed in the sounds of sirens, escape air conditioning to breathe in the sea air, and leave the protective atmosphere of their loft to indulge in the scents of Canal Street. With Manhattan, the World-Island, unfolding at their feet.
Jean Nouvel

STATUS build
ADRESSE 40 Mercer Street, New York, USA
DATES
Studies: 2002/2004
Construction: 2005/2008
ARCHITECT Jean Nouvel - Ateliers Jean Nouvel
CLIENT Hotels AB/Hines/Goldman Sachs
ARCHITECTS
PROJECT LEADERS Frédérique MONJANEL (2002), Ingrid MENON (2003), François LEININGER (2004 / 2008)
Caroline BINACHON, Philippe PAPY, Kirsi MARJAMAKI, Laurent PEREIRA (2002), Marie-Hélène BALDRAN, Vincent LAPLANTE (2003)
Local architects: SLCE Architects
Roman & Williams (interior design)
INTERIOR DESIGN François-Xavier BOURGEOIS, Sabrina LETOURNEUR, David THULSTRUP, Laetitia LEINARTZ, Emilie MONNEAU
PERSPECTIVES Artefactory
LIGHTNING Odile SOUDANT (SCH/DCE)
ENGENEERS
Fluids: Cosentini (NY)
Structure: Gilsanz Murray Steficek LLP (NY)
CONSULTANTS
Facades: GMS (NY)
Garden: Thomas Balsley (NY)
Lightning: Johnson Schwinghammer (NY)
PROGRAM42 apartments & boutiques
GROSS FLOOR AREA 10 000m2

40 Mercer - Logements Soho

Etats-Unis Go Full Screen

‚ÄčSitué à l'angle de Mercer, Grand et Broadway, les logements résidentiels 40 Mercer, devaient à l'origine être un hôtel. Après le 11 Septembre le programme a changé pour des logements, mais les bases de mon projet étaient là, fondées sur des propositions inspirées par les qualités qu'offrait le site. Celui-ci a la particularité de comporter trois côtés libres, une occasion rare à New York. La décision la plus évidente aurait été d'appuyer le bâtiment contre le mur voisin, mais j'ai préféré l'en écarter et créer un jardin.
Les immeubles voisins sont exemplaires de l'architecture industrielle de Soho. J'ai analysé leurs proportions, la composition des façades et les matériaux, pour produire une architecture résolument contemporaine mais qui ne cherche pas à se différencier, qui souhaite au contraire se fondre pour mieux révéler les qualités de son environnement.
Les proportions des deux volumes superposées qui composent le bâtiment sont calibrées sur celles des bâtiments proches : le volume inférieur, la base, prend la hauteur moyenne de ses voisins directs, alors que le volume supérieur, la tour, est de même hauteur et de même largeur que le Broome Building à l'extrémité Nord du bloc. Une sculpture de lames de verre bleu coiffe la tour côté Est, en écho à la corniche du Broome.
J'ai ensuite recoupé la base verticalement par une faille, qui marque le passage de Mercer à Broadway, des façades de brique rouge aux façades peintes en blanc, gris ou bleu, de l'élégance calme de Soho à la frénésie de Broadway.
L'écriture d'ensemble est celle d'une structure métallique tramée gris sombre. Mais les différentes parties prennent divers aspects suivant leur position dans le site : les façades de l'aile Ouest côté Mercer sont composées à partir de larges baies vitrées horizontales et habillée à l'angle de verres rouge sombre ; côté est, la trame des façades est plus serrée, ponctuée de fenêtres à guillotine inversée et de verres bleu nuit. La Tour est plus lisse et ses allèges brillent au soleil; deux séries de fenêtres coulissantes extra larges rompent la continuité, rappelant des portes de garage et transformant les salons en loggias.
La façade arrière du bâtiment suit une trame régulière de panneaux opaques ou transparents rappelant les murs mitoyens en brique du quartier.
A l'intérieur, une dizaine de typologies d'appartements, du 2 pièces au duplex de plus de 300 m², projettent leurs occupants au coeur de cette ville à la saisissante beauté. Si dans les étages inférieurs, les façades voisines forment un papier peint rêvé dans les baies vitrées, chaque cadre trouvant naturellement sa correspondance dans la trame qui lui fait face, c'est tout le skyline du Downtown Manhattan qui s'offre aux appartements de la tour. Mais c'est aux cinq sens des habitants de 40 Mercer que j'ai voulu m'adresser : qu'ils ouvrent les immenses fenêtres et ils se plongeront pour un moment dans le bruit des sirènes, échapperont à l'air conditionné pour sentir le vent du large, quitteront l'atmosphère protectrice de leur loft pour s'offrir les parfums de Canal Street. Manhattan, l'île-Monde qui s'étale à leurs pieds.
Jean Nouvel

STATUS Construit
ADRESSE 40, Mercer Street, New York, Etats-Unis
DATES
Etudes: 2002/2004
Travaux: 2005/2008
MAITRISE D'OEUVRE Jean Nouvel - Ateliers Jean Nouvel
MAITRISE D'OUVRAGE Hotels AB/Hines/Goldman Sachs
ARCHITECTES
CHEFS DE PROJET Frédérique MONJANEL (2002), Ingrid MENON (2003), François LEININGER (2004 / 2008)
Caroline BINACHON, Philippe PAPY, Kirsi MARJAMAKI, Laurent PEREIRA (2002)
Marie-Hélène BALDRAN, Vincent LAPLANTE (2003)

Architectes locaux: SLCE Architects (architecte local)
Roman & Williams (design intérieur)
DESIGN INTERIEUR François-Xavier BOURGEOIS, Sabrina LETOURNEUR, David THULSTRUP, Laetitia LEINARTZ, Emilie MONNEAU
PERSPECTIVES Artefactory
LUMIERES Odile Soudant (SCH/DCE)
INGENIEURS
Fluides: Cosentini (NY)
Structure: Gilsanz Murray Steficek LLP (NY)
CONSULTANTS
Façades: GMS (NY)
Jardin: Thomas Balsley (NY)
Eclairage: Johnson Schwinghammer (NY)
PROGRAMME 42 appartements & boutiques
SURFACE SHOB 10 000m2