Cité Manifeste

France Go Full Screen

A Colored Mutation

The eleven apartments are located on a triangular piece of land, on a street named "rue Lavoisier", at the end of the city's Schoettlé quarter.
The row of houses, which extends under a large free-running roof, marks both a limit and an entrance: two portals open wide on to the alleys of the worker's housing estate.
The triangular shape of the land is used to escape the rigid orthogonal logic of the estate and to create long trapezoidal gardens. It is the exception that confirms the rule.
Each apartment is unique. Various angles in the common walls rhythm the composition. Life is perceptible through translucent peripheral walls. Woven wood partitions give the impression of belonging to a large garden.
The house itself is based on the dissociation between the roof (water tightness) and the interior walls. It is a house inspired by the French poet and philosopher Bachelard, with an attic – additional space that will be fitted out later – and a ground floor between two gardens. An empty space in the centre helps link the different spaces and levels. Intermediary spaces between outside and inside allow residents to make the most out of the garden and truly appreciate the privilege of living in an individual house.
Once the geometry is worked out, the angles of the walls create spaces that give out onto interior and exterior perspectives.
Bright colour is everywhere: under the roof, on the windows, on the common walls. Each house is a coloured mutation, switching from orange to pink, blue to purple, green to lilac… This softens the perception of the industrial materials and suggests warm, domestic, rural life.
​Jean Nouvel

STATUS Built. 2001-2005
LOCATION Ilot Schoettle, Rue Lavoisier, Mulhouse (FR)
CLIENT Groupe CIL, SA HLM SOMCO
ARCHITECTURAL TEAM Jean Nouvel - Architectures Jean Nouvel
PROJECT LEADERS  Erwan SALIVA, Hala WARDE (études); Eric MARIA (chantier)
ARCHITECTS Laurent PEREIRA, Philippe MONTEIL, Aurélien PASQUIER
CONTRACT TYPE Full design mission without V.R.D. of law MOP type
PROGRAM 60 housings semi-individual type distributed between following teams (5 x 12 housings): Architecture Jean Nouvel, Shigeru Ban associated with Jean de Gastines, Anne Lacaton & Jean Vassal, Duncan Lewis associated to Block Architectes, Mathieu Poitevin

Cité manifeste

France Go Full Screen

Une mutation colorée

Situés sur une parcelle triangulaire en bordure de la rue Lavoisier, les logements proposés expriment la limite de l'îlot Schoettlé. Mais les maisons en bandes sous une grande toiture filante signifient à la fois arrêt et entrée : deux portes ouvrent sur les venelles de la cité ouvrière.
La forme de la parcelle est réutilisée pour sortir de la logique orthogonale de la cité, pour créer des jardins en longueur, trapézoïdaux : une exception pour confirmer la règle.
Tous les logements sont différenciés, les différents angles des murs mitoyens rythment le paysage de l'ensemble. Des murs périphériques translucides laissent deviner la vie. Des séparatifs de bois tressés, plus bas, donnent l'illusion à chacun d'appartenir à un grand jardin.
La maison est basée sur la dissociation du toit (de l'étanchéité) et des murs intérieurs. C'est une maison tierce "bachelardienne", avec un grenier, espace joker à aménager plus tard, avec un rez-de-chaussée entre deux jardins. Un vide central pour aider la communication entre les activités des différents niveaux. Des espaces intermédiaires entre l'extérieur et l'intérieur pour mieux s'approprier le jardin et savourer le privilège de la maison individualisée.
La géométrie différenciée, les angles des murs créent des espaces orientés sur des perspectives intérieures et extérieures. La couleur est sous le toit, sur les fenêtres, sur les murs de séparation. Chaque maison est une mutation colorée, progressive de l'orange au rose, du bleu au parme, du vert au lilas... Pour adoucir la perception des matériaux industriels et les connoter de domesticité et de ruralité.
Jean Nouvel

STATUT Construit. 2001-2005
ADRESSE Îlot Schoettle, Rue Lavoisier, Mulhouse
MAITRISE D'OUVRAGE Groupe CIL, SA HLM SOMCO

MAITRISE D'OEUVRE Jean Nouvel - Architectures Jean Nouvel
EQUIPE ARCHITECTURALE AJN
CHEFS DE PROJET Erwan SALIVA, Hala WARDE (études); Eric MARIA (chantier)

ARCHITECTES Laurent PEREIRA, Philippe MONTEIL, Aurélien PASQUIER
TYPE DE CONTRAT Mission complète hors V.R.D. du type loi MOP
PROGRAMME 60 logements de type semi-individuels répartis entre les équipes suivantes: AJN, Shigeru Ban associé avec Jean de Gastines,
Anne Lacaton & Jean Vassal, Duncan Lewis associé à Block Architectes, Mathieu Poitevin