One New Change

United Kingdom Go Full Screen

Saint Paul's Crossing

The rebuilding of the block bounded by New Change, Cheapside, Bread and Watling streets must enrich the entire neighbourhood. There are questions to answer: how do we complete the existing system of shopping streets? How do we build next to Saint Paul's Cathedral in a way that pays homage and is in dialogue? How do we create a roof façade, worthy of being viewed from the Dome, an attractive, sober, roof landscape that is "in its place" in harmony with the surrounding rooftops?
The development of offices and shops should be urbane and welcoming, creating a calm animation that will keep the area lively into the night and on weekends.
We have sought an architectural typology that fits these objectives. The present scheme is a development of an initial proposal in which a new street bisected the site, beginning as a covered passageway at the intersection of Cheapside and Bread Street and opening a view to the Cathedral Dome. The new concept starts from the principle that there should be passageways within the block to link Cheapside with Watling Street and Bread Street with New Change and bringing about continuity with Bow Bell's church yard. Theses passages create a crossroads at the center of the block. The ambition is to create 21st century arcades, the heritage of arcades like Burlington and Picadilly, and then magnify the importance of the crossing by means of an architectural sign linking them to Wren's Saint Paul's. The sign takes the form of a steel sphere beneath open sky that reflects the image of the Cathedral. The sphere creates light drawing attention from the entrance to each passage.
The shops and offices are organized around the arcade crossing, where there is also a panoramic lift giving direct access to the roof terrace. The view of Saint Paul's dome from the terrace is unique, striking in its proximity. There are also sweeping 360° views of the city from this terrace.
The materials of the exterior facades set up a dialogue with the neighbouring buildings and with Saint Paul's. They are matte and smooth; their colours echo the surrounding stone and brick facades. Shininess is reserved for the inner passages. The contrast between matte exterior and polished interior stimulates the desire to enter and explore a new quarter that demonstrates the changing of the city.
It is about enriching the city with a new sort of modernity, one that reaches beyond itself to speak to, complement, and to reveal the diverse character of its surroundings.
Jean Nouvel

STATUS Built
LOCATION London, United Kingdom
DATES
COMPETITION 2003
BUILDING PERMIT 2005
BUILDING WORK 2007 / 2010
CLIENT Land Securities
TYPE  OF COMMISSION Competition, Stage C & D
PROGRAM Retail, offices, public spaces
NET FLOOR AREA 51 500 m2 (555.280 ft2)
RETAIL 20 000 m2 (215 280 ft2)
OFFICES 31 500 m2 (340 000 ft2)
GROSS FLOOR AREA 83 732 m2 (901.291 ft2)
BUDGET 196 000 000 £
UTILE COST / M2 210 £/sqft
ARCHITECTURAL TEAM
ASSOCIATED ARCHITECT Sidell Gibson Partnership LLP, London
PROJECT LEADER / PARTNER IN CHARGE Hala Wardé
PROJECT LEADERS Stacy Eisenberg, Didier Lobjois, Philippe Monteil
ARCHITECTS Alain Gvozdenovic, Frédéric Imbert, Anthony Pascual, Olaf Turck, Nobuo Yoshida, Nick Gilliland, Toshihiro Kubota
GRAPHICS Rafaëlle Ishkinazi, Marie Maillard (competition)
COMPUTER IMAGERY AJN
Christophe Rousselle
BUILDING PERMIT Miller Hare, London
MODELS Etienne Follenfant, Jean-Louis Courtois
ENGINEERS
BUILDING SERVICES Hoare Lea, London
STRUCTURE Arup, London
FACADES RFR
CONSULTANT TEAM
COST ESTIMATOR Davis Langdon, London
RETAIL Aftertuesday
FACADE MAINTENANCE REEF
ACOUSTICS Hann Tucker
TRANSPORTATION Steer Davis Gleave
LIGHTING DESIGN AIK (concept), Speirs & Major (development)
FIRE SECURITY  Locke Carey
LANDSCAPE Michel Desvigne (concept), Atkins (development)
SIGNAGE Autobus Imperial (concept), Saachi & Saachi (development)
GRAPHICS ANS SILK-SCREEN PRINT Hiroshi Maeda

One New Change

Royaume-Uni Go Full Screen

A la croisée de Saint Paul

Reconstruire le quadrilatère New Change, Cheapside, Bread street, Watling steet, doit enrichir l'ensemble du quartier. Comment compléter le système de rues, souvent commerçantes, comment établir une relation avec la cathédrale Saint Paul qui soit à la fois un hommage, un dialogue, mais qui aussi donne à voir depuis le Dôme une toiture façade, toiture paysage, attrayante, sobre, " à sa place " dans le concert des terrasses et des toits environnants?
Le programme construit commerces et bureaux se veut urbain, accueillant, créateur d'une calme animation, qui fera vivre ce lieu plus souvent, plus longtemps, le week-end ou le soir.
Nous avons recherché la typologie la plus adaptée à ces préalables et avons fait évoluer la proposition initiale basée sur une nouvelle rue, coupant le quadrilatère en deux, naissant sous un porche à l'angle de Bread street et de Cheapside et créant la perspective sur le Dôme de la cathédrale. La nouvelle approche part du principe que le quadrilatère doit permettre de créer des passages reliant Cheapside à Walting Street, Bread street à New Change assurant une continuité avec Bow Bells Churchyard en créant une croisée de passages au milieu du bloc. De cette croisée s'ouvre une perspective sur le Dôme. L'ambition est de créer des " arcades " du 21ème siècle, héritage de Burlington arcades et Piccadilly arcades, de magnifier cette croisée par un signe architectural lié à Saint Paul et à Wren. Ce signe prend la forme d'une sphère d'acier ouverte sur le ciel et renvoyant l'image de Saint Paul. Cette sphère crée une lumière attractive depuis chaque entrée.
Autour de la croisée des arcades se distribuent les niveaux de commerces et de bureaux, mais aussi l'accès direct à la terrasse par ascenseur panoramique.
Depuis cette terrasse la vue sur le Dôme est unique, étonnante de proximité et celle sur la ville peut se développer à 360 degrés.
Les façades extérieures sont caractérisées par une matérialité qui dialogue avec les immeubles du quartier et avec la cathédrale Saint Paul, matérialité mate, lisse, en écho aux couleurs de pierre et de brique qui entourent le projet.
La brillance est réservée aux passages, dans un contraste qui doit provoquer l'envie de rentrer et de flâner à l'intérieur d'un nouveau quartier témoin de la mutation de la ville. Il s'agit d'un enrichissement urbain par l'expression d'une nouvelle modernité : celle qui dialogue, qui complète, qui révèle, au-delà d'elle-même, les caractères de ce qui l'entoure.
Jean Nouvel

 

STATUT Construit
LIEU Londres, Royaume-Uni
DATES
CONCOURS 2003
PERMIS DE  CONSTRUIRE
 2005
TRAVAUX 2007 / 2010
MAÏTRISE D'OUVRAGE
 Land Securities
TYPE DE MISSION Concours, Stage C & D
PROGRAMME Commerces, bureaux, espace public
SURFACE UTILE 51 500 m2 (555.280 ft2)
COMMERCES 20 000 m2 (215 280 ft2)
BUREAUX 31 500 m2 (340 000 ft2)
SURFACE SHOB 83 732 m2 (901.291 ft2)
BUDGET 196 000 000 £
PRIX M2 UTILE 210 £/sqft
EQUIPE ARCHITECTURALE 
ASSOCIE Sidell Gibson Partnership LLP, London
CHEF DE PROJET / PARTENAIRE Hala Wardé
CHEFS DE PROJET Stacy Eisenberg, Didier Lobjois, Philippe Monteil
ARCHITECTS Alain Gvozdenovic, Frédéric Imbert, Anthony Pascual, Olaf Turck, Nobuo Yoshida, Nick Gilliland, Toshihiro Kubota
GRAPHISME Rafaëlle Ishkinazi, Marie Maillard (concours)
IMAGES DE SYNTHESE AJN
Christophe Rousselle
PERMIS DE CONSTRUIRE Miller Hare, London
MAQUETTES Etienne Follenfant, Jean-Louis Courtois
INGENIEURS
FLUIDES Hoare Lea, London
STRUCTURE Arup, London
FACADES RFR
CONSULTANTS
ECONOMISTE
 Davis Langdon, London
COMMERCES Aftertuesday
MIANTENANCE FACADE- Maintenance façade: REEF
ACOUSTIQUE Hann Tucker
TRANSPORT Steer Davis Gleave
ECLAIRAGE: AIK (concept), Speirs & Major (développement)
SECURITE INCENDIE: Locke Carey
PAYSAGE Michel Desvigne (concept), Atkins (developpement)
SIGNALETIQUE Autobus Imperial (concept), Saachi & Saachi (développement)
‚Äč
GRAPHISME ET SERIGRAPHIE Hiroshi Maeda