Education, Culture and Leisure Center

Kuweit Go Full Screen

The Garden of Lights

There are neighborhoods that become symbols of cities, and this is one. No one will think of Kuwait City in the same way after it has built its Garden of Lights. It is an urban garden, of a thousand and one lights, moving shadows, contrasts between vegetation, ambiguity between inside and outside. The façades are composed largely of large, floor to ceiling glass with no visible frames. The façades are like glass curtains, virtual partitions separating terraces from gardens, exterior from interior. Ambiguity is heightened by the omnipresence of vegetation and by the use of flooring materials that are the same on both sides of the glass.
The Garden of Lights’ transparent façade will stretch like an urban showcase over an entire kilometer. The façade, a glass wall ornamented with sandblasted images, movie billboards, and concert, congress and museum signage, will protect the gardens and restaurant terraces behind it from traffic noise. The garden will become a new meeting place; people will come here to lunch or dine before or after shows or conferences. From the rooftop restaurant terrace, patrons will enjoy views over the skyline of Kuwait City and the Gulf. The terrace will be illuminated by a large lighted screen that will rotate slowly like a radar antenna. Other rotating screens, mirror screens, screens of colored light, will be installed in the garden and on the terraces.
The garden is really a series of superposed gardens. The parking garage is planted. So are the restaurant and cinema levels; these are organized around a new urban space called Screen Square, which will be protected from the heat by an overhead sun shade. The exhibition area terraces are planted. So are the roof terraces. Plants at all levels of the building create a combined effect of profusion, of accumulated vegetation.
The thousand and one lights are images, both abstract and figurative, illuminated or backlit, like the giant photographic slides that dominate the buildings of Tokyo. Some of the images move thanks to giant LED screens that function day and night. Images that have a commercial or symbolic function mingle with purely artistic images. Large illuminated “light drawings” made from neon tubing flit through the tree canopy. Text messages scroll across terrace façades. The idea is to create a new kind of poetry made of lighted signs and vegetation, which interact, interfere, hide and reveal one another.
An object’s identity comes from its singularity. The culture of an era invents itself progressively. The Garden of Lights is about inventing an image of Kuwait City that will be recognizable the world over.
‚Äč
Jean Nouvel

STATUS Unbuilt. 2004
LOCATION Koweït City, Koweït
CLIENT United Real Estate Co.
ARCHITECTURAL TEAM Jean NOUVEL - Ateliers JEAN NOUVEL
LOCAL ARCHITECTS SSH Architects and Engineers, Kuwait City, Kuwait
PROJECT LEADER Emmanuel BLAMONT
ARCHITECTS Brian WAIT, Marie-Hélène BALDRAN, Florence RABIET Eric MARIA esquisse), Nabila ZERROUKI, Salwa MIKOU, Andrew HARTNESS, Soni DEVABAKTUNI, Arnaud DUPONT
GRAPHIC DESIGN Natalie SACCU DE FRANCHI, Eugénie ROBERT
FILM Ignazio MOTTOLA
CONTRACT TYPE Competition, winning project
PROGRAM Conference center, art museum, technology school, amusement games, restaurants, multiplex cinemas, ice skating rink, bowling alleys, public park, parking
GROSS FLOOR AREA 130 000 m²

Centre éducatif, culturel et de loisirs

Koweït Go Full Screen

Le jardin des lumières

Il est des quartiers qui font l’image des villes. Celui-ci en est un : Koweït City ne laissera pas le même souvenir après l’édification de ce jardin des lumières. Jardin urbain. Jardin des mille et une lumières. Jardin des ombres mouvantes. Jardin des contrastes entre les végétations et les images, entre les reflets de ces images et les profondeurs vertes. Lieu de fraîcheur jouant de ses fontaines et de l’ambiguïté entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur : l’essentiel des façades est constitué de grands modules de verre clair allant du sol au plafond (sans menuiserie métallique lisible) ; ce sont des rideaux de verre, des murs virtuels entre les terrasses et les jardins, entre les extérieurs et les intérieurs, l’ambiguïté est entretenue par la présence de végétal et le plus souvent possible par la même nature de sol des deux cotés du verre.
Le jardin des lumières allongera sa façade transparente, sa vitrine urbaine sur près d’un kilomètre. Façade d’images, images des arbres sablés sur le verre, images d’annonces liées au cinéma, au programme du centre de congrès et aux expositions, façade transparente protégeant du bruit  jardins et terrasses qui le soir accueilleront les clients des bars et des restaurants. C’est le quartier où l’on donnera ses rendez-vous pour le spectacle pour l’avant et l’après spectacle pour les déjeuners et dîners de toute nature. Un bar restaurant terrasse sera belvédère et permettra de lire le skyline de Koweït City. Il sera éclairé par une grande image écran qui tournera lentement telle un radar. D’autres écrans tournants existent dans le jardin et sur les terrasses, écrans miroirs, écrans de lumières colorées.
En fait le jardin est composé comme une succession de jardins qui se répètent à différents niveaux, le parking accueille déjà le paysage mais aussi un peu plus haut l’espace des bars restaurants, cinémas (avec une grande place urbaine appelée place des écrans), protégée du soleil et de trop de lumière par une ombrella. Mais aussi les terrasses liées aux expositions, mais aussi les toitures accueillent fleurs et palmiers, les plantations sur tous les niveaux créent un effet de profusion, d’accumulation.
Les mille lumières sont à la fois des images abstraites ou figuratives, éclairées ou auto éclairantes, comme de grandes diapositives, telles ces immenses photographies qui dominent ces immeubles de Tokyo. Ces images peuvent plus rarement être dynamique par de grands écrans vidéos (leds) lisibles de jour et de nuit. Ces images ont une fonction symbolique ou publicitaire et elles sont mélangées à d’autres de nature purement artistique. Grands dessins lumineux faits de néons dans les arbres, grands textes défilant sur la longueur des terrasses et des immeubles. Une nouvelle poétique née de la rencontre et de l’interférence du signe lumineux, électrique ou électronique et du végétal, de la dissimulation de l’un par l’autre.
L’identité se créée par les singularités, la culture d’une époque s’invente au fur et à mesure. Le jardin des lumières a aussi pour but d’inventer une image d’identification de Koweït City aux yeux du monde.
Jean Nouvel

STATUT Non réalisé. 2004
ADRESSE Koweït City, Koweït
MAITRISE D'OUVRAGE 
United Real Estate Co.
MAITRISE D’ŒUVRE Jean NOUVEL - Ateliers JEAN NOUVEL
ARCHITECTES LOCAUX SSH Architects and Engineers, Kuwait City, Kuwait
CHEF DE PROJET 
Emmanuel BLAMONT
ARCHITECTES 
Brian WAIT, Marie-Hélène BALDRAN, Florence RABIET Eric MARIA esquisse), Nabila ZERROUKI, Salwa MIKOU, Andrew HARTNESS, Soni DEVABAKTUNI, Arnaud DUPONT
GRAPHISME 
Natalie SACCU DE FRANCHI, Eugénie ROBERT
FILM Ignazio MOTTOLA
TYPE DE MISSION Concours, projet lauréat
PROGRAMME : Centre de conférences, école de technologie, salles de jeux, restaurants, multiplexe cinéma, piste de patin à glace, bowling, parc public, parking
SURFACE SHOB 130 000 m²