Ile Seguin Masterplan

France Go Full Screen

From an industrial island to an industrious island

​Social progress, the evolution in living conditions, the inclusion of leisure for a better working life : the Ile Seguin was, last century, a symbol of the change in the quality of life for the majority of French people. This vocation could be extended in the twenty-first century if the Ile Seguin were to become the first urban space in Paris to implement responsible and sustainable conditions of the kind called for, logically and politically, if we are to develop a metropolis that combines the pleasures of nature with those of urban living while respecting the Kyoto Protocol and thereby protecting the young and future generations.
The Ile Seguin has witnessed a series of prevarications and backflips in the decision-making process. The time has come for us to act on the fact that the future, fortunately, is not completely compromised. Unfortunately, the option of transforming the industrial structures is no longer available, but there is still time for us to set an exemple and be courageous in our handling of what is a historic site. Let’s incorporate on the Ile Seguin the intelligent attitudes that were already in evidence some years ago before coming to the fore in the studies on Greater Paris. Let’s show what an eco-district should look like, on an island where it really will be a small city within the city, an eco-city, perfectly identifiable and readable in its different contours, reflected in the Seine.
What would be the point of the Greater Paris initiative if the commitments set out in the 29 April 2009 presidential address to the Cité de l’architecture, failed to form the basis of our proposals for such a site? What would be the point of the Mayor of Boulogne’s rejection of an earlier plan that was incoherent and unambitious? Let’s make use of the time that has elapsed and of our fellow citizens’ growing awareness of the gravity of the issue of ecology–a dynamic clearly confirmed in the European elections– by proposing a project that reflects those aspirations.
This means that the Ile Seguin cannot be divided into lots, carved up into parcels of land where each property developer and his or her architect propose an independent, one-off project.
We have known for too long already that large-scale districts or large-scale centres just cannot be built from scratch on a blank slate.
We know that we have first to define a real urban program, one that’s complex and balanced and that guarantees life and its free expression at every moment. But we’ve seen what happens when we don’t plan typologies and morphologies on that scale: we end up with a place that has no soul, no roots, no synergy and no complexity, a place that has no mystery. Depth is a dimension that needs to be thought out in advance. The casting is even more important than for a Hollywood blockbuster since it has consequences that last a bit more than a couple of hours. What we need to do is bring together the head of urban strategy and the various elected representatives, architects and consultants of all stripes to work on scenarios that deal with a range of hypotheses and risks. It’s the relevance of the winning strategy that will create value and attractiveness. It’s the humanist and ecological dimension that will show the people of Boulogne the merits of a legitimate ambition.
We are aware of the current situation and of the absolute necessity of expanding on a number of points established in the feasibility study of 2001:
- Building up the island’s memory from its original base, a reinterpreted façade marked by the framing of the water, with openings onto the river, the riverbanks, and from one bank to the other.
- Highlighting the relationship to the water with an esplanade running along the shoreline.
- The sense of interiority and mystery, of surprise, associated with the island is largely due to its vast garden.
- The importance of inscribing the island and its contours within the landscape, and the island landscape within the landscape of Boulogne, Meudon, and Saint-Cloud.
But, also, of opening up the island’s views of Paris, Boulogne and the neighbouring forests for the public. The island needs to be a vibrant, attractive destination, one with a cultural program –shows, music, exhibitions – that is every bit as strong as its commercial program–designer fashion boutiques, bars, restaurants, galleries. The island should be inhabited by three categories of people: those who work there, those passing through but staying temporarily, and those who live there. There need to be hotels as well as spaces such as artists’ studios, student and other accommodation, the number and type of which can be worked out. If a big central garden is to occupy most of the central urban space, that space will form one of the island’s microclimates, an indoor garden enclosed in glass that can be opened using solar energy – passive and active. The garden will be extended by vast terraces bigger than the apartment buildings that support them, largely planted with trees and associated with functions that take advantage of the views, day and night: fitness centres, restaurants, meeting-places...
The implementation of renewable energies will start with solar energy, banks of solar panels forming veritable ‘fields’ mainly covering the cultural spaces and partly covering some of the terraces. Heat exchange systems using water will be explored as well as geothermal energy.
The current L.U.P. is obviously meant as a guide only and will evolve, but the first study phase will make use of a large part of the legally constructible surfaces so as not to hold anything up. The initial garden design should also be materialized as swiftly as possible with Michel Desvigne; the architects currently working on the envelope will adapt their studies to developments in the project as they occur.
The ecological studies will allow us to determine density. From the point of view of sustainable development, if the island is served by the Greater Paris metro (ARC), the Paris metro and the tramways, it would be preferable to locate close to stations and stops any activities liable to reduce travel.
Only an ecological study on a Greater Paris scale will allow us to come up with figures. The reality of constructing a large-scale eco-district means we need to evaluate costs by incorporating the notion of overall cost (=cost of construction + social cost). This notion, which is vital for achieving the objectives of sustainability, will allow us to define the financial health of the operation, on the one hand, and to attract developers and buyers, on the other.
This approach is both pragmatic and ambitious at the same time, but it is also realistic. Its aim is to allow all the political, administrative, cultural and technical heads to lay claim, clearly and proudly, to objectives and strategies in harmony with the historic situation.
Jean Nouvel

​STATUS In progress
LOCATION Ile Seguin, Boulogne-Billancourt (FR)
CLIENT Public: SAEM Val de Seine Aménagement pour la Ville de Boulogne-Billancourt
ARCHITECT Jean NOUVEL – Ateliers Jean Nouvel (Paris, FR)
PROJECT LEADERS
Project: Nathalie SASSO
Execution: Alain GVOZDENOVIC
ARCHITECTS
Project: Aurélien COULANGES, Grégoire DEFRANCE, Karolina KANIA, Marie-Charlotte PROSPERI, Qiang ZOU
GRAPHIC DESIGN Rafaelle ISHKINAZI, Vatsana TAKHAM
COMPUTER GENERATED IMAGES 
Benjamin ALCOVER, Jean-Guy AMARIGLIO, Mizuho KISHI, Raphaël RENARD, Rocco VALENTINES
PERSPECTIVES Didier GHISLAIN
LANDSCAPE Michel DESVIGNE (client assistance)
ENGINEERS
Sustainable development: Elioth
Acoustics: AVEL Acoustique
CONSULTANT
Scenography: dUCKS scéno (Michel COVA)
MODEL AJN (with Jean-Louis COURTOIS)
DATES
Studies: start 07.2009
Masterplan : 06.2010
CONTRACT TYPE Definition of the masterplan for Seguin Island, advice and assistance to the client for the overall urbanism of Seguin Island
PROGRAM Cultural, musical and artistic equipment, retail, commerce, offices, hotels; centre of the island shall be dedicated to a cinema and a multimedia pole; two areas shall be dedicated to contemporary art and music
USABLE FLOOR AREA Site development : 11 ha (Area of Seguin Island); 310 000 m²
BUDGET Non disclosed

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: User Warning

Message: Invalid EE Conditional Variable: {if "

STATUT En cours
ADRESSE Ile Seguin, Boulogne-Billancourt (FR)
MAITRISE D’OUVRAGE Publique; SAEM Val de Seine Aménagement pour la Ville de Boulogne-Billancourt
MAITRISE D’ŒUVRE Jean NOUVEL – Ateliers Jean Nouvel (Paris, FR)
CHEFS DE PROJET
Projet : Nathalie SASSO
Exécution: Alain GVOZDENOVIC
ARCHITECTES
Projet : Aurélien COULANGES, Grégoire DEFRANCE, Karolina KANIA, Marie-Charlotte PROSPERI, Qiang ZOU
GRAPHISME Rafaelle ISHKINAZI, Vatsana TAKHAMIMA
IMAGES DE SYNTHESE 
Benjamin ALCOVER, Jean-Guy AMARIGLIO, Mizuho KISHI, Raphaël RENARD, Rocco VALENTINES
PERSPECTIVES Didier GHISLAIN
PAYSAGE Michel DESVIGNE (mission assistance à la maitrise d’ouvrage client assistance)
INGENIEURS 
HQE : Elioth
Acoustique : AVEL Acoustique
CONSULTANTS
Scénographie : dUCKS scéno (Michel COVA)
MAQUETTE AJN (avec Jean-Louis COURTOIS)
DATES
Etudes : début 07.2009
Plan directeur : 06.2010
TYPE DE MISSION Définition du plan directeur de l’ile Seguin, conseil et assistance au maître d’ouvrage en matière d’urbanisme portant sur l’Ile Seguin
PROGRAMME Equipements culturels musicaux et artistiques, commerces, bureaux, hôtels; centre de l'île consacré à un cinéma et un pôle multimédia; deux pointes consacrées à l'art contemporain et à la musique
SURFACE UTILE Aménagement : 11 ha (surface de l’Ile Seguin); 310 000 m²

"}

Filename: libraries/Functions.php

Line Number: 2749

Jean Nouvel

Plan directeur d'aménagement de l'Ile Seguin

France Go Full Screen

De l’île industrielle à l’île industrieuse

​Le progrès social… l’évolution des conditions de vie… la prise en compte des loisirs pour un meilleur travail. L’île Seguin a été, au siècle précédent, le lieu symbole du changement des conditions de vie pour la majorité des français. Cette vocation pourrait être prolongée au XXIe siècle si l’Ile Seguin devenait le premier lieu urbain parisien à mettre en oeuvre les conditions responsables et durables qui doivent logiquement, politiquement s’imposer pour développer une métropole qui associe les plaisirs de la nature et ceux de l’urbanité en respectant les accords de Kyoto donc en protégeant les jeunes et futures générations.
L’île Seguin témoigne d’une série de tergiversations, de décisions contradictoires. Le moment est venu de positionner le fait que l’avenir, heureusement, n’est pas complètement compromis. L’option de la transformation des structures industrielles est malheureusement caduque, il est toujours temps d’être exemplaire et courageux à partir d’un site historique. Intégrons sur l’île Seguin les attitudes intelligentes déjà débusquées depuis quelques années, mises en évidence par les études sur le Grand Paris, montrons l’exemple de ce que doit être un éco-quartier qui, à l’échelle de l’île, sera vraiment une petite ville dans la ville, une éco-cité, parfaitement indentifiable, lisible dans ses différentes silhouettes se reflétant dans la Seine.
Quel serait le sens du Grand Paris si sur un tel site les engagements du discours présidentiel du 29 avril 2009 à la cité de l’architecture n’étaient pas le socle de nos propositions. Quel serait le sens du refus par le Maire de Boulogne, d’un précédent plan incohérent et sans ambition ? Servons nous du temps passé, de la progression des consciences de nos concitoyens vis-à-vis de la gravité de la question écologique, dynamique clairement confirmée par les élections européennes, pour proposer un projet en relation avec ces aspirations.
Ceci veut dire que l’île Seguin n’est pas à lotir, à découper en lot où chaque promoteur et son architecte proposent un projet autonome et orphelin.
Nous savons depuis déjà trop longtemps qu’il nous est impossible de construire de grands quartiers ou de grands centres exnihilo sur une tabula rasa.
Nous savons qu’il faut d’abord définir un vrai programme urbain, complexe, équilibré qui garantisse la vie et son expression libre à toutes les heures, mais nous avons souvent eu la preuve que, si nous ne prévoyons pas les typologies et les morphologies à cette échelle, nous courrons vers un lieu sans âme, sans racine, sans synergie, sans complexité, un lieu sans mystère. La profondeur est une dimension qui se prémédite. Le casting est plus important que pour les superproductions hollywoodiennes car ses conséquences durent un peu plus de deux heures. Il faudra travailler par scénarios entre responsable de la stratégie urbaine, élus, architectes et consultants de tout horizon en fonction des hypothèses et des risques. C’est la pertinence de la stratégie retenue qui créera la valeur et l’attractivité. C’est la dimension humaniste et paysagère qui révélera au Boulonnais le bien fondé d’une ambition légitime.
Nous sommes conscients de la situation d’aujourd’hui et de l’absolue nécessité de prolonger de nombreux points établis lors de l’étude de faisabilité de 2001 :
- La mémoire de l’île bâtie sur son socle, une façade réinterprétée, rythmée par des cadrages sur l’eau, sur les rives ou d’une rive à l’autre.
- La mise en évidence du rapport à l’eau avec la promenade des rives.
L’intériorité et le mystère, la surprise qui lui est attachée avec le grand jardin de l’île.
- L’importance de l’inscription de l’île dans le paysage, sa silhouette, le paysage de l’île dans le paysage de Boulogne, Meudon, Saint Cloud…
Mais, aussi, ouvrir au public les vues depuis l’île sur Paris, Boulogne et les forêts voisines, car l’île doit être une destination vivante, attractive, programmée aussi bien culturellement : spectacles, musiques, expositions, que commercialement par les boutiques des créateurs de mode, les bars, les restaurants, les galeries. L’île doit être habitée par ceux qui y travaillent, qui y passent mais y restent : hôtels ou qui y vivent : ateliers d’artistes, étudiants et différents types de logements à doser et choisir. Si un grand jardin central doit occuper en grande partie la place urbaine centrale – cette place sera l’un des micro-climats de l’île sous une grande serre ouvrable utilisant l’énergie solaire – passive et active. Le jardin se prolongera par d’immenses terrasses, plus grandes que les immeubles qui les supportent, largement plantées et accompagnées de fonctions profitant des vues de jour et de nuit : fitness, restaurants, rencontres…
La mise en oeuvre des énergies renouvelables commencera par l’énergie solaire, de grandes nappes véritables « champs » de panneaux solaires, couvriront pour l’essentiel les espaces culturels et partiellement quelques terrasses. Seront explorés les systèmes d’échanges thermiques avec l’eau et la géothermie.
Le PLU actuel est évidemment conduit à évoluer, mais la première étape d’étude utilisera une large partie des surfaces légalement constructibles pour ne rien retarder. La préfiguration du jardin est également une idée à réaliser le plus rapidement possible avec Michel Desvigne, les actuels architectes de l’enveloppe adapteront leurs études aux évolutions du projet.
Les études écologiques seront de nature à préciser la densité. Du point de vue du développement durable si l’île est desservie par ARC, le métro parisien et les tramways, il est souhaitable de positionner à proximité des gares les activités qui seraient de nature à réduire les déplacements.
Seule l’étude écologique à l’échelle du Grand Paris nous permettra de connaître les chiffres. La réalité de la construction d’un grand éco-quartier conduit à des évaluations de coût intégrant la notion de coût global (coût de construction + coût de gestion + coût social). Cette notion vitale pour atteindre les objectifs durables permettra d’une part de situer l’équilibre financier de l’opération, d’autre part d’intéresser les développeurs et les acquéreurs.
Cette démarche à la fois pragmatique, ambitieuse mais réaliste veut permettre à tous les responsables politiques, administratifs, culturels et techniques de pouvoir revendiquer clairement et fièrement des objectifs et des stratégies en accord avec la situation historique.
Jean Nouvel

 

STATUT En cours
ADRESSE Ile Seguin, Boulogne-Billancourt (FR)
MAITRISE D’OUVRAGE Publique; SAEM Val de Seine Aménagement pour la Ville de Boulogne-Billancourt
MAITRISE D’ŒUVRE Jean NOUVEL – Ateliers Jean Nouvel (Paris, FR)
CHEFS DE PROJET
Projet : Nathalie SASSO
Exécution: Alain GVOZDENOVIC
ARCHITECTES
Projet : Aurélien COULANGES, Grégoire DEFRANCE, Karolina KANIA, Marie-Charlotte PROSPERI, Qiang ZOU
GRAPHISME Rafaelle ISHKINAZI, Vatsana TAKHAMIMA
IMAGES DE SYNTHESE 
Benjamin ALCOVER, Jean-Guy AMARIGLIO, Mizuho KISHI, Raphaël RENARD, Rocco VALENTINES
PERSPECTIVES Didier GHISLAIN
PAYSAGE Michel DESVIGNE (mission assistance à la maitrise d’ouvrage client assistance)
INGENIEURS 
HQE : Elioth
Acoustique : AVEL Acoustique
CONSULTANTS
Scénographie : dUCKS scéno (Michel COVA)
MAQUETTE AJN (avec Jean-Louis COURTOIS)
DATES
Etudes : début 07.2009
Plan directeur : 06.2010
TYPE DE MISSION Définition du plan directeur de l’ile Seguin, conseil et assistance au maître d’ouvrage en matière d’urbanisme portant sur l’Ile Seguin
PROGRAMME Equipements culturels musicaux et artistiques, commerces, bureaux, hôtels; centre de l'île consacré à un cinéma et un pôle multimédia; deux pointes consacrées à l'art contemporain et à la musique
SURFACE UTILE Aménagement : 11 ha (surface de l’Ile Seguin); 310 000 m²