Grove Heights

USA Go Full Screen

New Scale, New Sensations

The project site, in the heart of Coconut Grove, raises a question that requires a detailed response. Obviously we need to use the situation to create views from each apartment toward the sea, the future park and the boats! But in order to make the pleasure total we need to forget the neighbors, too close, too visually disturbing, indiscrete, that violate the privacy of the residents. And it is necessary to protect against the neighbors within the development itself. So the program is dense and the strategy delicate.

Architecture is born of constraints.
To integrate all the constraints and arrive at an architecture that is hedonistic and joyous is a real headache. It’s obsessive.
You will understand therefore that all our energy has been concentrated on finding a solution that is both sensible and sensitive. I am proposing a strategy, an ambition, a reality that we will call "Grove Heights".  
This ambition is contained within a series of decisions, of positions taken to:
Create a landscape that echoes those of the Grove
Create a central park space that is as large as possible by arranging the apartments around the perimeter of the site
Create atypical apartments, apartments to fall in love with, from different situations, all with ocean views
These “situations” are brought to light and to life by a number of “sensitive devices” that use the following paradigms:
Shown / hidden (foreground / background)
Sun / shade
Reality / unreality (reflections)
Inside / outside
Shown / hidden: views can be composed. Devices that have their own character and function are placed in the foreground against a background that is the initial view. From its terraces and glazed façades each apartment has a perimeter view through a long linear façade. The view is filtered by:
Vegetation, using species of plants chosen to evoke the landscapes of the Grove
Large sliding venetian shutters with operable slats made of translucent and reflective materials
Large, full-height mirrors that slide along the façade
By manipulating these three elements the residents decide what they see, where they see it from, and where they need visual protection. These variations and the play of light they generate create the architecture of Grove Heights.
Sun / shade
Shadows are cast by the shutter slats and the plants. Punctuations of light of varying intensity filter through the translucent or reflective shutter slats.
Reality / unreality
The sliding mirrors, the slatted shutters, and the full height glazed facade create a game of reflections, and reflections of reflections, from the perfect mirror to the blur mirror which erases contours while expressing nuances of color and movement.
. Outside / inside
The limit is ambiguous, erased by the transparent glazing, present or absent depending on whether the sliding façade is open or closed. The terrace can be closed behind a wall of slatted shutters, forming a giant trellis constituted by modules in different states of openness. The terrace is neither outdoors nor indoors; it is inspired by a category of space in Japanese architecture that is called "ma".
Each apartment has a strong individual character.
All of the apartments are composed from the same set of elements.
The facades are gardens, vertical, deep, full of variations, surprises, open like loggias, punctuated by shutters, inhabited by multiple species of plants or… empty. Whether they are seen from the street looking up or in the background of a view, the facades are mysterious landscapes.
Extending the future park across the street, Grove Heights park marries cascades of water with vegetation native to the Grove. The park extends to the entrance halls at the base of the residences raised on pilotis and rises to planted terraces. It continues rising to cover the apartment terraces and culminates in planted roof decks at the top of the buildings.
Because of the complexity of the site, we have studied two different options. In the first, Coconut Grove Bank is kept in its current position and totally integrated into the park. In the second option the bank is moved to its planned future location on 27th Avenue.
The strategy is set.
The rules of composition are clear.
The width of the apartments is flexible (3 feet of additional width yields 10% of additional area), as is the distance between the new development and the neighboring hotel. 
The architecture will be refined and finalized together between the Client and the Architect.
Grove Heights is an urban composition but also a landscape composition, heir to a history that goes back to the old landscapes of the Grove. Reinterpreting the scale of contemporary buildings, Grove Heights offers new sensations in the climate of Miami.
Jean Nouvel

 

DATES Competition: 06.2013
LOCATION 2701 South Bayshore Drive, Coconut Grove, Florida, USA
CLIENT TERRA GROUP (Miami, USA)
ARCHITECT Jean NOUVEL Ateliers Jean Nouvel (Paris, FR)
PROJECT LEADER David FAGART
ARCHITECTS Michael GLOUDEMAN, Narjis LEMRINI, Samuel MAYANOBE
IMAGES 3D Benjamin ALCOVER, Michael KAFASSIS, Mizuho KISHI, Sébastien RAGEUL
GRAPHIC DESIGN Eugénie ROBERT, Rafaelle ISHKINAZI, Vatsana TAKHAM, Élise TAPONIER
INTERIOR DESIGN Sabrina LETOURNEUR
LANDSCAPE Laura GIULIANI, Jerôme DUREAULT
MODEL Romain CAILLON, Rui PEREIRA
CONSULTANTS ARTHEOR (Sylvain BRARD)
STATUS Unbuilt
CONTRACT TYPE Competition: project not selected
PROGRAM Luxuary appartment, Housing, offices, retails
USABLE FLOOR AREA 570,000 square feet
Logements: 460,000 sf
Banque : 30,000 sf
Bureaux: 10 000 sf
Commerces: 70 000 sf

Grove Heights

Etats-Unis Go Full Screen

Nouvelle échelle, nouvelles sensations

‚ÄčAu cœur de Coconut Grove, le site du projet suscite aujourd’hui une question qui requiert une réponse circonstanciée. Evidemment, il faut utiliser cette situation pour développer des vues de chaque appartement sur la mer, le futur parc et les bateaux ! Mais pour que le plaisir soit total, il faut oublier les voisins encombrants, trop proches et trop perturbants visuellement, indiscrets, violant l’intimité des nouveaux habitants. Et il est nécessaire aussi de se protéger des voisins immédiats à l’intérieur même du projet. Hors le programme est dense et la stratégie délicate.
L’architecture naît des contraintes. Ici, intégrer chacune de ces contraintes et arriver à une architecture hédoniste et jubilatoire revient à trouver la solution d’un vrai casse-tête. C’est obsédant. Vous comprendrez donc que toute l’énergie a été consacrée à trouver une réponse qui fait à la fois du sens et du sensible. Je vous en propose une ambition, une stratégie, une réalité, nous l’appelons « Grove Heights ».
Cette ambition est contenue par une série de décisions, de positions :
Créer un paysage en écho à ceux du Grove
Libérer un parc central le plus grand possible et donc organiser les appartements sur le périmètre du site
Créer des appartements atypiques, des appartements coup de cœur à partir de situations très différenciées, chacun, rappelons-le,  avec une vue directe sur la mer.
Ces situations sont éclairées par la mise en place de dispositifs sensibles que l’on  peut situer par les paradigmes suivants :
Montré/caché (premier plan/arrière-plan)
Soleil/ombre
. Réalité/irréalité (reflet)
Dedans/dehors
Montré/caché
Une vue peut être composée. Des dispositifs ayant leur propre expression et fonction viennent s’implanter en premier plan devant l’arrière-plan qui constitue le vue initiale. Depuis ses terrasses et façades vitrées, un appartement a, sur un long linéaire, une vision périmétrique :
. Par de la végétation, aux essences choisies évoquant les paysages du Grove ;
. Par des volets coulissants de grandes dimensions constitués de panneaux à lames orientables –  vantelles en aluminium ou en matériau translucide ;
. Par un grand miroir coulissant sur la hauteur d’un étage.
. Par la manipulation et la composition des trois dispositifs, les habitants de l’appartement décident de ce qu’ils regardent, d’où ils regardent et des lieux dont ils souhaitent se protéger visuellement.
L’ensemble de ces variations, en intégrant les jeux de lumière, crée l’architecture de Grove Heights.
. Soleil/ombre
Les ombres sont projetées à travers les persiennes et les plantes. Des ponctuations de lumières, plus ou moins diffuses, plus ou moins intenses, surgissent à travers des vantelles translucides ou réfléchissantes.
. Réalités/irréalités
Les miroirs coulissants, les vantelles, la façade de verre en grand modules de 3,30 mètres de hauteur multiplient les reflets, reflets de reflets du miroir précis au miroir vague qui, lui, efface les contours mais exprime les nuances colorées et les mouvements.
. Dedans/dehors
La frontière est ambiguë, effacée par le verre clair, présent ou absent en fonction de l’ouverture totale ou partielle du coulissant. L’espace terrasse peut être refermé par un mur de vantelles, un claustra constitué par les ouvertures différenciées des modules. Cette terrasse n’est ni dedans ni dehors, elle s’inspire d’une catégorie d’espace particulièrement recherché dans l’architecture traditionnelle japonaise appelée "ma".
Chaque appartement est fortement caractérisé.
L’ensemble de ces appartements est construit par les mêmes composants.
Les façades sont des jardins. Des jardins verticaux et profonds, des jardins toujours en variations, en surprises, ouverts tels des loggias rythmées par des persiennes, habitées par des essences multiples ou… vides. Lues en contreplongée ou en fond de perspectives, les façades sont des paysages inconnus.
Prolongement du futur parc voisin, le parc de Grove Heights marie escaliers d’eau et végétation du Grove. Ce parc central s’étend jusqu’aux halls, la base des immeubles posés sur des pilotis et des terrasses végétales. Par les terrasses des appartements, il monte jusqu’aux decks, au sommet des immeubles.
En raison de la complexité du site, nous avons étudiés deux hypothèses. Dans la première, Coconut Grove Bank est conservée dans sa position actuelle et est totalement intégrée dans le parc. Dans la seconde, la banque prend la place qui lui a été récemment assignée sur la 27th Avenue.
La stratégie est établie.
Les règles de composition des dispositifs sont clarifiées.
Une flexibilité est possible sur la largeur des appartements (1 mètre de plus égal 10% de surface en plus) et sur la distance avec l’hôtel voisin.
L’architecture s’affinera, se précisera ensemble, entre maître d’ouvrage et maître d’œuvre.
Grove Heights est une pièce urbaine mais aussi une « pièce paysage », héritière d’une histoire qui remonte aux anciens paysages du Grove. Réinterprétant l’échelle des immeubles d’aujourd’hui, elle propose de nouvelles sensations sous le climat de Miami.
Jean Nouvel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DATES Concours: 06.2013
ADRESSE 
2701 South Bayshore Drive, Coconut Grove, Florida, USA
MAITRISE D’OUVRAGE TERRA GROUP (Miami, USA)
MAITRISE D’ŒUVRE Jean NOUVEL – Ateliers Jean Nouvel (Paris, FR)
CHEF DE PROJET David FAGART
ARCHITECTES Michael GLOUDEMAN, Narjis LEMRINI, Samuel MAYANOBE
IMAGES 3D Benjamin ALCOVER, Michael KAFASSIS, Mizuho KISHI, Sébastien RAGEUL
GRAPHISME Eugénie ROBERT, Rafaelle ISHKINAZI, Vatsana TAKHAM, Élise TAPONIER
AMENAGEMENT INTERIEUR Sabrina LETOURNEUR
PAYSAGE Laura GIULIANI, Jerôme DUREAULT
MAQUETTE Romain CAILLON, Rui PEREIRA
CONSULTANTS ARTHEOR (Sylvain BRARD)
STATUT Non construit
TYPE DE MISSION Concours, Projet non retenu 
PROGRAMME Logements de luxe, bureaux, commerces, banque
SURFACE UTILE 570,000 sellable square feet
Logements: 460,000 sf
Banque : 30,000 sf
Bureaux: 10 000 sf
Commerces: 70 000 sf